College student life – presenting your work

Hey readers!!

This post is kind of a follow-on from my post about research. In this post I provide a few tips on making a presentation and some shortcuts to help in typing up any reports.

Making a presentation

So presenting is pretty nerve wracking. I’m someone who has extreme anxiety, once cried in front of my class and once blurted out something overtly sexual mid-presentation, but with a little work I managed to get an A on my final 15 minute presentation last year. So when I say the key to giving a good presentation is preparation and practice I know what I’m talking about.

My first presentation tip comes from next year’s Great Irish Bake Off winner, scone maker extraordinaire, KEITH.Publication1

Keith gave me this helpful tip in advance of me giving a presentation myself and I have to say though at first I questioned it, I practiced using it and it’s pretty helpful. While presenting I never know what to do with my hands and often tug at my hair, clothes and jewellery, but pretending I’m balancing and offering sandwiches makes all the difference. So give it a go and remember the key to looking confident and professional is practicing your presentation aloud, figuring out your own physical quirks and resolving them.

My second tip is again along the lines of preparation.26 Life Hacks for New College Students - Snappy PixelsPreparing a question in advance, when Q and A is part of the presentation, helps you to appear knowledgeable in the area being discussed and it also takes some of the anxiety out of the situation.

Report writing

I’ve scoured the internet for keyboard shortcuts, like the one from my last post about pressing CTRL+Shift+T to reopen a closed tab as I got some feedback about it being very handy and the list of shortcuts below was my favourite.

https://i2.wp.com/img.gawkerassets.com/img/188xrsoyvi2wwjpg/ku-xlarge.jpg

This would be worth saving or printing for your convenience as it’s the most comprehensive list I found. Also their is another list that I posted from yesterday at http://www.matchmove.com/newsarticle/keyboard-shortcuts .

And my final tip for typing up reports is for if you’re copying and pasting something.

How to copy and paste without keeping the source formatting

Obviously I’m not condoning or suggesting copying and pasting work and passing it off as your own, but this is useful for if you’re referencing and placing a large piece of material, i.e. a speech. It’s also useful if you’re moving text from Word to Powerpoint and want to avoid messing up the formatting.

That’s it for another post. If you want any of the original websites any of these pics came from just click on them and they should link you directly there.

As always, feed back and suggestions are welcomed in the comments, and I shall be posting again tomorrow.

Toodles readers 🙂

Lizzie

Leave a Reply

